PDA

View Full Version : General: - Newbie Q's on the 3.2 2007 XC90

Chemicalal
Jun 23rd, 2011, 11:26
I'm just about to take ownership of a 2007 (facelift) XC90 3.2 AWD SE with a full Volvo dealership history (18k, 36k, 54k, and 72k services despite having only 46k on the clock) and I have a few questions:

What do you all think of the 3.2 engine/gearbox? Is it a good match and are there any known issues?

Is the engine chain or belt driven? If belt, what is the recommended change mileage/year? If Chain, does it need changed and if so, what mileage?

It seems that these are fairly rare cars - is this just down to the tax costs and MPG figs? Or is there something more sinister afoot?

My background is BMW, and if put aside worry about the above costs, to have an in-line six 3.2 with 240ish HP and 320 torques - Is this an ideal mesh of power, performance and reliability?

Any help/thoughts would be much appreciated,

Kindest regards,
Alasdair

Ron_XC90
Jun 23rd, 2011, 12:08
Hi Alasdair,

The 3.2 is quite rare, mainly because of the running cost (petrol). If I understand it correct the V8 petrol returns a pretty similar mpg so there are more of those around.
I test drove the 2007/8 model 3.2 with geartronic and found it a fantastic drive. The car was sold by the time I made my decision so went for the D5 instead.

Because they are rare there might not be much known faults. So far I cannot remember having seen any problems reported here with the engine/gearbox, so should be a safe purchase.
Check around the forum for other known issues (non engine/gearbox related) as the rest of the car is the same as the others...

Chemicalal
Jun 23rd, 2011, 12:29
Cheers for that Ron - I also collect older BMW's (70's & 80's) so i'm quite used to getting 200-300 miles from £80 these days.
Performance & reliability are far more important to me than petrol prices (Turbo or AWD or gearbox issue and thats £1000's, which buys a lot of petrol!).