PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Filler Cap Again

Chewie431
Apr 6th, 2012, 22:19
Hi all, Im very new to both the forum and my XC90, I have just noticed that my fuel door isn't locking when Im driving along, and I have waited the 10-15 mins that is recommended for it to lock, I cant see anything wrong with the door (by that I mean it isn't loose) so could it the motor itself? If so how much can they set me back? Any help would be most appreciated.

ChrisE
Apr 7th, 2012, 10:15
I think that it is the time from when you switch the engine & ignition off. It doesn't lock when you are driving along.

bobdabuilda
Apr 7th, 2012, 10:45
Why do you want it to lock as you're driving along? Are the fuel thieves highly mobile in your area?

gillberry
Apr 7th, 2012, 10:51
I want to know how he knows it's not locking as he's driving along ? Is someone running alongside the car ? Is the speed greater and a motorbike rides alongside or is that how the theives nick fuel in his area ?

outnumbered
Apr 7th, 2012, 17:35
all classic replies:thumbs_up:

Chewie431
Apr 7th, 2012, 18:21
Ok so yes that did sound a bit dumb but I noticed as I pulled into work last night going over a speed bump that the fuel door swung open. Surley doing less than 5mph over a hump isn't cause enough for the door to open on its own?

I then realised that after locking the car and leaving it for the 15 mins the fuel door isn't locking which is why I was enquiring about the motor for the pin.

gary austin
Apr 7th, 2012, 18:32
acording to the hand book cant you access the door lock from in the boot if a failure ocurs maybe this has been fiddled with ,read the handbook and have a look in the boot behind the panel good luck gary

Chewie431
Apr 7th, 2012, 18:34
I'll have a look, thanks for the advice gary

JimG
Apr 7th, 2012, 19:34
It sounds like the spring assembly has broken, not the lock. Relatively cheap repair. I got mine done by Volvo, think it cost about £20.

Beavis
Apr 7th, 2012, 21:27