PDA

View Full Version : General - 850 2.5TDI Cold Start problem

harveyu
Jan 13th, 2008, 20:24
Hi. I'm new to this internet thing, but I hope someone can help me.
Got an 850 2.5TDI estate (96) with 160Kmiles and fully volvo serviced (yep, that's cost me over the years)
Anyway It now decided it does not like starting in the cold (from +8c down)
Cranks fine, manifold glowplug OK

Symptom. Cranks for about 4-5 second, and it appears to start (splutter), but stops straight away, this can be reapeated upto 20 times before it decides to run. (Throttle position makes no difference)

If you keep cranking through the initial firing it chimes in and out while cranking for upto 30 seconds (lots of black smoke, and I'm sure the starter motor hates me) before running cleanly.
(simular to a petrol engine being partially staved of fuel)

Apart from cold starting runs fine (very very well)

At a guess it's an injector timing thing, but only when it's cold ???
Is there a cold start advance which could be failing ?

Any suggestions anyone

Thanks

Harvey

jor
Jan 13th, 2008, 23:48
May be of no help whatsoever, but on a 940 cold start problems are usually due to either the glow plugs or the glow plug relay. Does your service record say when the plugs were last changed? If it's been a while start there, the Audi 2.5 engine manual will give instructions and a set should only cost about £30. A forum search "850 cold start" gives a couple of threads relating to diesels but the ones that I've looked at are complicated with error codes etc.

john

tfb
Jan 14th, 2008, 00:23
I agree with jor, I would suspect a glowplug problem before anything else. if you have a multi-meter then take the wire off each glowplug in turn and measure the resistance from the stud to earth, anything more than about 4 ohms and it's time to be changed.
Also measure the voltage supplied to glowplugs when the ignition is turned on to check that the relay is operating.

Regards
TFB

warthog
Jan 14th, 2008, 08:25
Hi,