PDA

View Full Version : V40 T4 SE confusion

silverkaylah
Apr 19th, 2004, 17:22
Hi,

Please excuse my ignorance in this matter but I am new to the world of volvo and looking to you all for help!!

I have recently purchased a used car from a "reputable" garage. The car was sold to us as a 2002 V40 T4 Turbo Sports Lux. It turns out that the DVLA had this car registered as a 145DL on the V5 document in error.
The garage sent a letter to the DVLA asking it to rectify the records. When we went to pick the car up they showed us a copy of the letter along with a spec list for the car. The spec list shows the car as being a V40 T4 SE, not a sports lux. When questioned the garage assured me that the SE and sports lux were in fact one in the same. I have since done some investigating myself and found this to be untrue. On cheking the letter that they have sent to the DVLA, the model that they have asked to be put on the V5 is 2.0 T4 Sports SE.

What I would like to know is this...

Am I right in thinking that the SE and Sports lux are in fact different models?

If that is right, what does the sports lux have that the T4 SE doesn't?

Does the model 2.0 T4 Sports SE actually exist?

Many thanks for your help

silverkaylah
Apr 19th, 2004, 17:27
Sorry, one more thing, the garage also said that it was a phase III, i've searched on the internet and I can only find phase II, does phase III exist?

T4ASB
Apr 19th, 2004, 18:25
Mine is a 2001, which is a Phase 2. The log book simply lists it as:
Make: Volvo
Model: V40 T4
Estate

I believe you should also have a certificate of conformity, which is issued by Volvo and specific to your individual car, con confirm in conforms to ec 98/14 whole vehicle blah blah....on which it is listed simply as a V40, engine code B4204T5

pyaap
Apr 19th, 2004, 18:42