PDA

View Full Version : C70 S70 V70: - new

Hoss V70
Nov 21st, 2011, 13:50
afternoon all.

Just bought my first Volvo, V70 2001 2.4 t.
and just joined the forum.

So hello to everybody.

I am a keen mechanic and have given the beast a good once over before buying, and managed to get £400 off the price by spotting a few things and got a 3 month warranty out of the garage.
Absolutely over the moon with the car, wondered why i haven't had one before.
Now... couple of things i am going to check out myself, but thought i'd check with the people who know.

1. rear washer isn't working.
2. front headlamp washers have had a knot tied in the hose?
3. i have checked to see if it has had the dreaded ETM replaced, and as far as i can tell it hasn't, because it does not have a yellow sticker on unit? but have to say i did 1300 miles in it over the weekend and no issues. (touch Wood).
4. i think i will take heed of good advice, and i am going to do the cam belt. i have had a look at the existing cam belt and it looks ok. Car has just don 130k. am i right in thinking there is a 105k interval?
5. from the back of the rear seats, where the retractable bootspace cover is. ther is what i'll describe as a cargo net, guessing that it is a dog guard? if so? where does it attach too.?

Anyway thats plenty for my first post.

Many thanks in advance...

Hoss.

The Hooded Claw
Nov 21st, 2011, 13:58
1. rear washer isn't working.Check the spare wheel well isn't Wet, COULD have just a loose washer pipe

2. front headlamp washers have had a knot tied in the hose? Now THAT yer "Got Me" on ... PASS!!!

3. i have checked to see if it has had the dreaded ETM replaced, and as far as i can tell it hasn't, because it does not have a yellow sticker on unit? but have to say i did 1300 miles in it over the weekend and no issues. (touch Wood).Just coz it aint got a Yellow Sticker does not mean it has NOT been done (suggest you monitor it as you progress thru ownership