PDA

View Full Version : XC70 Engine Tune

JimmyMac
Mar 3rd, 2006, 18:01
Does anybody know how much a engine chip from volvotuning is likely to cost?

I have been caravanning for many years and have recently bought a 2003 XC70 D5(163bhp).

It is a magnificent car i must say but my only niggle is due to the increase in weight over my car before this (2004 V70 D5 163bhp) and my towing requirements i am considering having the engine ECU upgraded.

I belive the new ECU upgrade can increase torque and BHP up to 197bhp?

Does anybody know if this is geniuine, and has anybody anymore information about prices, reviews or has anybody had it fitted themselves?

Any information greatly appriciated! Jimmymac

imac
Mar 3rd, 2006, 18:16
Does anybody know how much a engine chip from volvotuning is likely to cost?

I have been caravanning for many years and have recently bought a 2003 XC70 D5(163bhp).

It is a magnificent car i must say but my only niggle is due to the increase in weight over my car before this (2004 V70 D5 163bhp) and my towing requirements i am considering having the engine ECU upgraded.

I belive the new ECU upgrade can increase torque and BHP up to 197bhp?

Does anybody know if this is geniuine, and has anybody anymore information about prices, reviews or has anybody had it fitted themselves?

Any information greatly appriciated! Jimmymac

Rica do a 204 or 210bhp map @ £590 I think.

BSR do a map which costs £560.

Powerklick do a tuning box for around £240 who are meant to be very good and worth a try possibly?

I'm going to try a Powerklick on my D5, and then try a RICA demo car and decide if the RICA is worth the extra money.

edzmicro
Mar 7th, 2006, 13:33
I have the 163bhp D5 XC90 - new June 05 - remapped after 3 weeks by Chip Tuning - involving a remap of the ECU - no nasty box or connectors involved whatsoever.