PDA

View Full Version : Volvo V50 (no keys) BUT...

financenick
Jan 25th, 2014, 00:22
Hi, was hoping to get some help from those in the know, im a trader and recently bought a Volvo V50 1.6 DRIVe 2011, but did not realise untill the car arrived that the car has no keys - so my question is would this item on eBay solve all my problems and get the car up and running? thats what you get for buying online

cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=171207825952

VivaLaVolvo
Jan 25th, 2014, 01:08
To be honest I wouldn't know if they could be used or not but I would imagine whatever solution you find will require some degree of software manipulation by Volvo.

I assume the car was a repo hence the lack of keys? Have you tried contacting the previous owner and offering them a bit of cash if they can find the keys?

Coventry
Jan 25th, 2014, 01:09
Why don't you just contact the previous owner and ask for the keys they deliberately kept in order to steal the car from your fourcourt in a few weeks time?

bongodave
Jan 25th, 2014, 01:31
Shame you not in Coventry. I lost the keys to my X-type (transponder in key and a remote), called out a local locksmith and in 20mins he had programmed the transponder, remote and cut a key. Cost £150 cash. Bloke was saying he got the gear for most cars and all he needs is a log-book and cash.

Very impressive when Jag wanted over a ton for one key only, then all the programming/cutting etc.

May be worth having a word with some of your locals.

SonyVaio
Jan 25th, 2014, 02:04
Dave that's because those cars security systems are crap unlike Volvo which is one of the best in the world, not as simple on the Volvo.

@ financenick

As above really, your best bet is contacting the previous owners but failing that contact Volvo with your proof of ownership etc... They should be able to sort you out a new key but may also need the car to do so.