PDA

View Full Version : Should I adopt this P1800?

Princess Maggie
Feb 3rd, 2005, 02:29
I have an opportunity to adopt a '63 P1800 that needs a lot of love and attention. It is a single-owner, complete car that has rusted floor pans, rusted rockers and quarters, and a dent in the trunk lid from a tree branch falling on it. The brakes are seized, the engine turns over but the car needs a new gas tank, but... it's free.

To this point, I have only had American makes as restoration projects. I've never had a non-American make as a resto project. I would be very appreciative of any advice that you may have, such as what it might take to get this car running again and what kind of issues I might encounter with it. Are parts hard to find? Is this a body on frame car that can be disassembled? Where should I start and what are the known problems with this year? What are these cars worth once reasonably restored? I am just beginning my education about these cars and am a willing student. Thanks in advance!

mike gilbert
Feb 3rd, 2005, 08:12
Would like to help you with your questions but I'm afraid this is a UK based site and therefore without knowing the conditions that apply in your country regarding values, spares availability and prices etc any advice given here is likely to be innaccurate.
Mike Gilbert 1800 Register Keeper VOC.

TomTom
Feb 3rd, 2005, 11:11
Speaking very generally, I think this depends on a few things:

Will you do all/most of the restoration work yourself?
Do you want a car that you can drive or a resto project to keep you busy?
Do you want to make a profit?

I would look at some of the US sites and forums to see how common the 1800 is in your area; you may be able to get a much better car to start on, with less rust (which of course is the killer financially and structurally) for not too much money.

Personally I do not know anyone who has made money on a restoration project. But if you're good at it, and you enjoy it...