PDA

View Full Version : V50 Engine Turbo : - Turbo failure or what?? Help!!

Lotta78
Nov 21st, 2015, 19:51
Hi.
Bought a 2006 V50 1.6 Diesel last year, had already a new Turbo fitted sometime previous years (not sure when though). Anyway, the last few weeks my fuel consumption went way up, from an average of around 5.6 l/100 km to 6.7 l/100 km (sorry, no idea how many miles per litre that is!).

Went to my normal garage, the guy there just quickly peeked into the engine and said it's because I am doing more urban driving than previously (hmmm... maybe a little more, didnt think it would affect it that much though??!) and because the weather has gotten colder (not that much, either??!!)...

Also thought I noticed an ever so slight loss of power, but not very obvious, so wasnt sure in myself.

Anyway, I am studying at the moment, so not too well off with the cash. Thought I'd give it another while and observe.

Full service done week before last, with oil change and filter change and everything. Thought the fuel consumption would improve after, but only steadily got worse.

Well, today I went to drive back home, starting a 1,5 hour journey - and suddenly the power went. I barely was able to get up hills, had to push acceleration fully down to the floor, needed a loooong way to gain speed, and fuel consumption suddently went wayyyy down with it (we are talking averaging between 0.0 and 5.1 l/100 km) - both at the same time.

Didnt notice any white or black smoke, no strange noises, no lights coming on on the dashboard. Nothing!

Especially around the 2000 mark usually the turbo used to kick in, ie it used to "pull" lovely around the 2000, but now its just like really slooooow coming into gear...

Now my questions:
1) Am I right in my impression it will most possibly be a turbo failure?
2) Can I still drive the car approximately 40 min drive to the garage, or will it completely wreck the engine?