PDA

View Full Version : Engine: TDI: - 1999 V70 2.5D D5252t unbelievably slow

ttocsc
Sep 28th, 2017, 14:52
Hi, newbie here - been lurking a while but now require the help of you V70 gurus. I inherited a 1999 example, a D5252T with 247,000 miles. It ticks over smoothly and sounds just fine through the revs, but it's just slow as all hell. My top speed is 85mph in 4th, and it won't maintain that in 5th. 0-60 takes 22s.

I occasionally drive a VW LT35 van with the same engine, albeit detuned, and the van seems a ton faster. There is noticeable turbo lag before 2,000rpm but after it's started blowing the thing pulls strongly and will happily sit at 100mph on the motorway, uphill and all.

The Volvo, on the other hand, doesn't have that turbo sensation, it just seems to pull sluggishly from idle all the way to the governer flatly and without any boost. It really struggles to get up to motorway speeds, and needs a ton of throttle to stay there.

The previous owner had deleted the valve-type thing that's clipped on next to the MAF (boost control valve..?) - the one with 3 pipe connectors attached to the inlet hose, the wastegate and what I assume is a vacuum line - by simply joining the hose from the inlet manifold to the one going to the turbo wastegate. Reconnecting the valve thing doesn't seem to make any difference.

When you squeeze the inlet hose and get someone to rev to 3000rpm the hose inflates, so there is some boost pressure, just apparently nowhere near enough.

Having read the posts here about similar problems I've had the injection pump timing checked (-3 degrees), replaced my MAF sensor with a brand new Bosch one, deleted my EGR and checked the cat for blockage and everything looks fine. Suspect the turbo must be wrongly plumbed but everything looks fine from the top. Service light comes and goes intermittently but according to Delphi diagnostic software the only code is glowplug-related. Anyone got any ideas as to where I should start?

TIA