PDA

View Full Version : Electrical: - Battery Terminals - to grease or not to grease?

StanC
Jun 9th, 2009, 23:41
Hi All,

I've just noticed in the Haynes manual for my wife's VW Polo that 'VW specifically prohibit the use of grease on the battery terminals'(!)

I'm a retired engineer and in forty years of motoring/engineering I've never heard of this being imposed anywhere else and, indeed, the VW garage that services the car smears grease on the battery terminals. I've always carefully applied copper grease to the battery terminal posts on all my cars to improve electrical contact between the terminal post and the cable connectors and to prevent corrosion, without any unwanted effects.

Can anyone enlighten me regarding the technical reason(s) why VW prohibit the use of grease on battery terminals, please?

Stan.

migrator
Jun 9th, 2009, 23:50
No ideas, Stan. I use petroleum jelly (vaseline) on my battery posts.

pookie
Jun 10th, 2009, 00:33
I've always been a greaser!

Pookie

cam
Jun 10th, 2009, 06:04
yep i like a bit of spray grease then i dont get covered in it:thumbs_up:

pdr944
Jun 10th, 2009, 08:15
petroleum jelly has always been recommended for battery terminals.

GSMGuy
Jun 10th, 2009, 09:40
Not sure of the electrical properties of "grease" but I'm now beginning to wonder if petroleum jelly is conductive or not - I've always used it on battery terminals etc, but maybe coppaslip is better... I feel an experiment coming on...

Mike

BIGH66
Jun 10th, 2009, 10:10
Hi All,

I've just noticed in the Haynes manual for my wife's VW Polo that 'VW specifically prohibit the use of grease on the battery terminals'(!)