Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Engine: D5: DIY Top engine mount (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=40363)

D5 Monkey Jul 10th, 2007 12:01

DIY Top engine mount

1 Attachment(s)
As discussed in several other posts, a very simple job but thought I'd write it up for those who, like me, are always a bit sceptical when someone says "simple job"!!! Anyway, took me 30mins start to finish and I'm no mechanic but have resonable technical ability.

Hope it helps anyone who doesn't want to pay a dealer to repair this common problem.

Unfortunately I don't have the torque settings for the bolts, I used good old guess work (as most mechanics would) but can only recommend that anyone attempting this gets hold of the correct settings first as I don't want to be responsible for any damage! (if anyone gets these of Vadis I will happily put them into the doc)

Tim.

S60-MBS Jul 10th, 2007 12:07

Hi Tim,excellent work in writing up the work..the torque settings i used were pure guess work and so far no problems..Vadis does not seem to have the settings on it..
Regards
Mo

D5 Monkey Jul 10th, 2007 13:43

1 Attachment(s)
BTW Here's the two mounts, old and new as a comparison

P/N 30776354 for D5 engine (petrol engine mount is different)

D5 Monkey Jul 10th, 2007 20:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by S60-MBS (Post 261828)
Hi Tim,excellent work in writing up the work..the torque settings i used were pure guess work and so far no problems..Vadis does not seem to have the settings on it..
Regards
Mo

Cheers Mo, not really a big fan of specified torque settings an all that, I usually just tighten until it squeeks or until my hand slips off and I destroy my knuckles!!:hissyfit:

Don't want to be blamed for people destroying their engine casing though!

Wirralguy Jul 11th, 2007 09:55

Hi Tim