Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   C30 / S40 & V50 '04-'12 / C70 '06-'13 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Loss of power - Enigne syrtem service required (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=184808)

JIMBOfred Jul 18th, 2013 11:29

Loss of power - Enigne syrtem service required

My 05 S40 2.0D just had quite a drastic loss of power and the warning message - Engine System Service Required - appeared. I'm assuming the norm would be to take it to a volvo dealers and get them to find the fault, fix it and then issue a hefty bill. I've never used a main dealer before and am a little wary. Having just bought our first house and had our first child my wife and I are not in the best position financially atm. Can anyone either reassure my fear of main dealers or suggest another solution.

Cheers

eethon Jul 18th, 2013 16:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by JIMBOfred (Post 1452330)
My 05 S40 2.0D just had quite a drastic loss of power and the warning message - Engine System Service Required - appeared. I'm assuming the norm would be to take it to a volvo dealers and get them to find the fault, fix it and then issue a hefty bill. I've never used a main dealer before and am a little wary. Having just bought our first house and had our first child my wife and I are not in the best position financially atm. Can anyone either reassure my fear of main dealers or suggest another solution.

Cheers

is the engine euro 3 or 4? If 4 perhaps the DPF is clogged and you need it replaced with an additive top up?

If 3 could be the EGR valve? Had a similar issue with mine and it was the EGR valve and a letting by injector. But I believe the warning " Engine System Service Required" will throw up either the EGR or DPF fault.

Someone else with a bit more experience may be able to point you in the right direction if im wrong.

138gat Jul 18th, 2013 17:59