Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S80 '06-'16 / V70 & XC70 '07-'16 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   V70: Electrical Dash Info Not Working (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=307223)

js7799 Jun 22nd, 2020 20:32

Dash Info Not Working

Hi all, I'm new to this section of the forum. I just bought a 2009 V70 this weekend, and am really happy with it, so far! There is one issue I've noticed already: I can't get the info display to work on the gauge cluster. I push the READ button on the left stalk, and whatever warnings there are show up, i.e. rear belts not being used, door open, etc. But when I scroll the info knob, nothing happens. The messages that tell you fuel remaining, avg fuel, none of those show up at all. Is this a standard feature or something I need to get programmed in? Thanks in advance.

npg01 Jun 23rd, 2020 11:40

Hi Jeremy, and welcome to the forum with your V70.

The problem that you've described with the information dial on the left stalk mirrors exactly a fault that I'd experienced in my V70 of 2008 vintage. After working faultlessly for several years, I had lost the information that would usually be controlled by the dial.

Following a useful suggestion, either from elsewhere in this forum or from the 'Swedespeed' forums, a member had suggested investigating damage to small wires within the stalk.

To cut a long story short, damage to the wires had been the problem, with 3 of 5 wires [I seem to remember from over a year ago] seemingly cut by a sharp pair of scissors, but likely by being trapped amongst relatively sharp plastic edges to fittings.