Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   V40/XC '12>17 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   V40 D2 or D3, automatic? Reliability? (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=200915)

iristoi Mar 11th, 2014 15:09

V40 D2 or D3, automatic? Reliability?

Dear all,

I know that there have been few comments on D2 and D3 differences as well as advantages, but I still was not able to find the answers I seek.

I'm choosing between V40 D2 and D3 engines, automatic. The dealer advices to go for D3, because it will "sweat" less on autobahns and/or when the car is loaded (4 passangers, luggage).

I've test driven D2 powershift, it was fine (probably because I am a very calm driver). The car will be used for two persons in the city most of the time, ocassionally travelling longer routes on weekends. In any way I have a concern, I want to be sure that the engine will not have problems in 3 or 5 years. Therefore the reliability is important to me. I used to own German and Japansese diesel cars, but I have no clue about D2 ford/volvo engine. How reliable it is and whether I should better choose a bit more powerful engine (D3).

Another question relates to automatic transmission. D2 comes with powershift, D3 with geartronic. Which of these two is more reliable and preferrable? ...it's just that I want to have a car for 5 years without major investments (transmission service tends to be vey expensive).

Since I have never owned a volvo, I also wonder whether in general terms it's reliability is in par with German cars. Again...it has to do with the wish to forget about chassi/engine problems for at least 3 years, while the car is new.

I would greatly appreciate your help and advices.

NewVolvo Mar 12th, 2014 09:20

We own a V40 D4 Geartronic (same engine as D3 but with 180PS instead of 150PS) and it's fantastic. No regrets.