Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   XC90 '02Ė'15 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Mileage adjustment (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=284357)

Themanfromdown Jul 21st, 2018 13:20

Mileage adjustment
 
Hi all new on here though read it for a few help topics many a time but this is not covered...Note before as it seems in other threads like this folks get carried away saying its illegal and so on I have a very genuine rreason for my request to adjust the displayed mileage... So genuine and thinking others do it for none genuine reasons I am wondering if I should declare the rreason as it may be an excuse others are not aware of to adjust request a mieage adjust...for non legall reasons...
Anyway does anyone know if this can be done easily say using ebay purchased or internet available items...its already cost me a bit to sort the problem prior to this bit and dont fancy paying a UK volvo dealer silly money to do it ...I will have a seconhand instrument cluster to fit.. wasnt buying a new one and I am told it will come with with whatever miles are on it which undoubtedly of course wont show the same as the car its being fitted to has done ...

harveys Jul 21st, 2018 13:31

The cars mileage is stored on two separate places , dash display & the main control module..

oragex Jul 21st, 2018 14:58

From what I've read it is not as task for the DIY'r

However, it is very doable to have an instrument cluster repaired, so as to keep displaying the original miles.

Harley Dave Jul 22nd, 2018 00:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by oragex (Post 2427908)
From what I've read it is not as task for the DIY'r

However, it is very doable to have an instrument cluster repaired, so as to keep displaying the original miles.

"Original" to the cluster or "original" to the recipient vehicle??

Cheers

Dave

oragex Jul 22nd, 2018 01:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Harley Dave (Post 2428109)
"Original" to the cluster or "original" to the recipient vehicle??

Cheers

Dave


I meant, to have the original cluster repaired, so as to display the original miles has.

Themanfromdown Jul 22nd, 2018 05:23

Thanks for your replies guys I had heard its stored two places which is great but also a problem as well then Harveys you seem to know your stuff Does the module record in both Km as well as Miles eg is it convertable I sadly cant have the instrument cluster repaired or I would have done. there is actualy nothing wrong with my original instrument cluster except it cant be used in the UK so I am left buying a secondhand one that can be used in UK and altering the mileage I guess but the module will show up I guess in KMs unless that can be changed conerted to miles maybe it has to be a dealer job

SwissXC90 Jul 22nd, 2018 07:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Themanfromdown (Post 2428121)
Thanks for your replies guys I had heard its stored two places which is great but also a problem as well then Harveys you seem to know your stuff Does the module record in both Km as well as Miles eg is it convertable I sadly cant have the instrument cluster repaired or I would have done. there is actualy nothing wrong with my original instrument cluster except it cant be used in the UK so I am left buying a secondhand one that can be used in UK and altering the mileage I guess but the module will show up I guess in KMs unless that can be changed conerted to miles maybe it has to be a dealer job

Volvo probably stores the data in the Flash memory as Kilometers.
Most car manufacturers outside the USA do this.
The display of the mileage is then easily adapted to Miles by a simple mathematical calculation.
But that is not your issue.
You issue is wanting to fitted a 2nd hand DIFFERENT instrument cluster to the vehicle, and thus you will end up with a configuration in the vehicle that was not anticipated by the vehicle manufacturer.
The cluster you fit will have a different part number to the original cluster, and it will be not the anticipated cluster for the vehicle.

Volvo never anticipate that a vehicle be reconfigured from eg a USA market to a European market, or a Japanese to a European market, etc.
You MAY thus have firmware and software controls in place that cause further problems.
I say MAY as I am not sure if the cluster itself is a programmable item.
I am not sure what your results will be.
The DIM inside the cluster IS programmable, and must be coded with the correct data for the market that the car operates in. This holds some basic info such as time and date format, display in įC or įF, etc.
But how does the cluster handle differences in vehicle coding when it comes out of vehicle A and is fitted to vehicle B?
I don't know.

Even if you do swap of the cluster from the original cluster in MPH to a cluster in KMPH, you may continue to have problems as the vehicles core market data, as stored in the CEM, contains a coding item that states what type of instrument cluster is fitted (MPH or KMPH) and other market relevant data

So while I am not saying this is impossible, I am saying you need to be prepared for the event that it may be more difficult than you think.

I suggest you find a supplier that is willing to provide you a cluster on a "try and see" basis with some form of money back if not satisfied.

Clan Jul 22nd, 2018 08:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Themanfromdown (Post 2428121)
Thanks for your replies guys I had heard its stored two places which is great but also a problem as well then Harveys you seem to know your stuff Does the module record in both Km as well as Miles eg is it convertable I sadly cant have the instrument cluster repaired or I would have done. there is actualy nothing wrong with my original instrument cluster except it cant be used in the UK so I am left buying a secondhand one that can be used in UK and altering the mileage I guess but the module will show up I guess in KMs unless that can be changed conerted to miles maybe it has to be a dealer job

why don't you just get the software changed for UK market ? I'm sure that option is available ,

Tannaton Jul 22nd, 2018 09:04

You can use a car in km in the UK - every model I have seen has the alternative units also marked on the speedo.

The mileage is stored in the instrument cluster and it is possible to alter this, itís is also stored in the central electronic module (CEM) and I donít think itís is possible to change this in isolation?

FYI the CEM is configured at the factory for miles or km and the distance is also stored in the native unit, and service reminders, speed limiter etc is based in those units.

So as Clan said if you a really determined to do this then a full software reload of all relevant modules would be the only safe, predictable way. Whether Volvo has a documented process for that I donít know, if they donít then I suggest itís not an option.

A safer option might be to buy a second hand instrument cluster and swap all the guts of yours into it - if the speedo was on the same scale. Youíre odometer would still be in km but speed readout in mph. Iím sure there will probably be a downside to this but I canít think of one currently.

Clan Jul 22nd, 2018 15:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tannaton (Post 2428160)
You can use a car in km in the UK - every model I have seen has the alternative units also marked on the speedo.

The mileage is stored in the instrument cluster and it is possible to alter this, itís is also stored in the central electronic module (CEM) and I donít think itís is possible to change this in isolation?

FYI the CEM is configured at the factory for miles or km and the distance is also stored in the native unit, and service reminders, speed limiter etc is based in those units.

So as Clan said if you a really determined to do this then a full software reload of all relevant modules would be the only safe, predictable way. Whether Volvo has a documented process for that I donít know, if they donít then I suggest itís not an option.

A safer option might be to buy a second hand instrument cluster and swap all the guts of yours into it - if the speedo was on the same scale. Youíre odometer would still be in km but speed readout in mph. Iím sure there will probably be a downside to this but I canít think of one currently.

There Is only one software for the DIM needed , "English" application is probably the one if the car was configured for say France ...


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:43.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.