Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   140/164 Series General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   overdrive for 145 (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=299150)

morwenna240 Oct 3rd, 2019 19:48

overdrive for 145

Hallo people. I've just bought a 145. It needs " a bit of work", having sat about for some yrs. According to a Jack Cruer, the fitting of a Laycock overdrive makes things calmer on the m-way, an improves mpg. So, has anyone here present done this? What's involved? An, where to get one? Cruer talked of "donor cars", but there can't be to many of them, these days. My car is 1970 145 de luxe.
I'm new to 140 series, but have had 240's for yonks. Any comments on other useful mods gratefully recieved. Cheers.

john h Oct 3rd, 2019 21:14

Hi,

Yes putting overdrive on a 140 is a good way to improve cruising refinement and, to some extent, mpg.

You need to look out for an M41 transmission, that is the 4 speed plus overdrive for the 140. The same gearbox was also used on Amazons with overdrive. They do come up for sale, e.g. on ebay, but they're not cheap, being both rare and desirable. Expect to pay £500 - £1500.

You also need a shorter propshaft. It's not too expensive to get yours shortened if you cant find one.

The M41 uses a different gearbox mounting cross-member. If you can't find one, your original can be modified to fit with a little fabrication and welding.

The wiring is straightforward. The M41 will come with an inhibitor switch so the overdrive only works in 4th gear. You need a simple on-off switch and relay to operate it, and a warning light

Good luck, its a very worthwhile upgrade.

What other upgrades are you interested in?

Triple-S Oct 3rd, 2019 21:22