Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   XC90 '02–'15 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Rear Window camera (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=295609)

AB-UK Jun 11th, 2019 10:16

Rear Window camera

Since I found myself in possession of a spare NextBase dashcam, I thought I'd fit it to the rear window of my XC90.
I bought a hard-wire kit to attach the power cable to a fuse, but it seems all of the fuses in the rear quarter are ON all of the time.
I would prefer the camera to operate only when the engine is running, as the front one does since it's plugged into the lighter socket.

Have I missed something? Is there supposed to be fuse I can attach it to in the rear?

If not, my alternate idea was to crimp the power cable to one the rear driving lights, which only light up when the engine is running.

Clearly I am no auto electrician, so would anyone with such knowledge tell me if this would not be advised please?

SwissXC90 Jun 11th, 2019 12:38

Use the trailer power which is switched
Otherwise lights will be fine. And much easier - use the number plate lights. Dash cams use very little power

nu11eaf Jun 12th, 2019 12:17

I am not sure about the newer cars but when I tapped in to my lights wiring on my older volvo 240 the bulb failure dash light came on permanently, as it upset the voltage signal, the low wattage of a dashcam might not upset this system but I would not tap in to existing wiring. Much better to find a fused supply.

AB-UK Jun 12th, 2019 17:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by SwissXC90 (Post 2527718)
Use the trailer power which is switched
Otherwise lights will be fine. And much easier - use the number plate lights. Dash cams use very little power

There are two with "trailer" in their descriptions.

I'm pretty sure we tried all of the fuses, and when the dashcam was connected to each one it received power even whilst the ignition was turned off.