Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   Diesel Engines (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   D5 205 boost problem (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=296861)

wagonwheels Jul 21st, 2019 22:21

D5 205 boost problem

I've been chasing a performance issue for 6 months or so with my 2010 xc70 d5 205.It has a definite flat spot from 2600rpm to 3000rpm.There are no codes on vida and boost looks ok from what I can see.I did replace my bottom intercooler hose as it had a tiny pin hole in it and smoke tested the intake side of things with no obvious leaks detected.I did the smoke test as I feel it hisses too much under full throttle at lower rpms .
It's also fairly poor on fuel (28-30mpg) and compared to my 2004 xc70 d5 163(shark remap,egr delete, stainless exhaust and intercooler) it feel weak especially low on torque.
I wonder if being the twin turbo set up that one of the plastic joining feed pipes might have split on the turbos but I cant find any info on it being an issue.
Any info greatly recieved.

Stuart

GrahamBrown1 Jul 24th, 2019 07:12

Have you checked either of the turbos?

wagonwheels Jul 25th, 2019 11:43

I've now physically checked the spindles for play now as they are extremely difficult to get to either.It makes boost but not as quick as it should according to Vida.I suspect the black plastic pipework connecting the two turbos is to blame but again you cant see.
I had an xc60 205 which blew the small turbo at 44k and the bill was massive to sort .I was hoping not to be that unlucky twice.

davebb Aug 3rd, 2019 09:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by wagonwheels (Post 2539259)
I've now physically checked the spindles for play now as they are extremely difficult to get to either.It makes boost but not as quick as it should according to Vida.I suspect the black plastic pipework connecting the two turbos is to blame but again you cant see.