Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S60 & V60 '18> / XC60 '17> / S90 & V90 '16> / XC90 '15> General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=201)
-   -   XC90 T8 Sim Card slot??? (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=316399)

starsky Apr 28th, 2021 08:36

XC90 T8 Sim Card slot???

Hi all

Newbie here, sorry for the dumb question, go easy on me.

I recieved by fabulous new XC90 T8 yesterday - I have the sim card from the dealer but no idea where the sim card slot it. The manual suggests it is in the boot but i cant see it. Any ideas?

Thanks!

soupytwister Apr 28th, 2021 08:44

Open boot, lift the boot floor covers. It's on the right hand side. You're looking for a small black plastic looking holder that has 2 white arrows on it - one on the sim holder (which you pull out), and one on the socket. Just be careful when taking out / putting in so you don't lose any parts.

It's in the manual if still can't find it.

starsky Apr 28th, 2021 21:27

Very helpful, thanks Soupy. I can now see it as per the owner manual, although it wasnt very clear that i had to remove the base of the car!

So i seem to have got Volvo On Call set up, although the speed of the vodafone sim in the car is TERRIBLE. I mean zero data. So I am picking it up with the dealer tomorrow to see if i can get it working!

Polestar Pete Apr 28th, 2021 21:38

Shouldn’t the VOC be part of the customer handover process? They should be able to get you up and running when you pick the car up.

EssexExile Apr 28th, 2021 21:45

Surely you don't need to put a sim in for VOC? For us, probably because we're old and don't understand this modern stuff, the dealer got VOC working for us.

Polestar Pete Apr 28th, 2021 21:51

I agree, I don’t think you do need a SIM in the slot in order for VOC to work (it uses its own SIM).