Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S60 & V60 '18> / XC60 '17> / S90 & V90 '16> / XC90 '15> General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=201)
-   -   New Volvo XC90 T8 (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=300592)

DJC1979 Nov 15th, 2019 09:40

New Volvo XC90 T8

I am new to the Volvo brand and have recently purchased an XC90 T8 R Design Pro (which is being delivered next week) after having a nightmre with Land Rover.

I am wondering if there any tips / advice you can give on owning this car as I have never had a hybrid before.

Thanks for your help.

TimNiceBut Nov 15th, 2019 10:09

Get Zap map for "out and about" charging. It'll tell you where you can charge for free or cheap among other things.

Did you opt for the Type 2 cable as opposed to the supplied charger? If so, buy a home charge point. This can be a 3 pin plug one, which will take maybe 3 1/2 hours to charge the hybrid battery from empty, or a dedicated one with either a tethered cable or socket. You get a £500 government grant for this. I opted for a 7.2kW charge point even though my XC60 only charges at 3.6kW or so, to add a little future proofing.

Remember your ABC - Always Be Charging!

DJC1979 Nov 15th, 2019 10:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimNiceBut (Post 2572097)
Get Zap map for "out and about" charging. It'll tell you where you can charge for free or cheap among other things.

Did you opt for the Type 2 cable as opposed to the supplied charger? If so, buy a home charge point. This can be a 3 pin plug one, which will take maybe 3 1/2 hours to charge the hybrid battery from empty, or a dedicated one with either a tethered cable or socket. You get a £500 government grant for this. I opted for a 7.2kW charge point even though my XC60 only charges at 3.6kW or so, to add a little future proofing.

Remember your ABC - Always Be Charging!