Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   General Volvo and Motoring Discussions (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Ice and snow driving, what are you techniques? (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=275935)

GrahamBrown1 Dec 12th, 2017 08:33

Ice and snow driving, what are you techniques?

With the current weather people will be out and about in the snow/ice. I’m no expert in snow driving but I would say I’ve had my fair share of experience. I was taught to bring a car to an allmost stop only using the clutch and gears from a steady speed if you were traveling in the snow. Obviously this takes a lot of planning and reading the road ahead but it works. As we know if you use the brakes it normally ends in disaster.

But what about if you have an auto? I’ve not driven an auto in the snow before, it’s ok getting going but it’s the stopping that’s important and a lot of our volvos are auto especially the awd models.

So what techniques do you use to get around safely?

Baxlin Dec 12th, 2017 08:41

If I have to drive in these conditions, I use as high a gear as possible, and touch the pedals as little as possible.

Thankfully my Volvo is diesel, FWD and manual, whereas my last car (Lexus hybrid) was RWD and CVT auto,so didn't even have a 'proper' manual mode.

HTH
Malcolm

ps. The three wheeler is fun, by the way, a very light car, RWD through the single rear wheel, making it a 3x1 configuration, but having a short stroke high revving bike engine.....

Welton Dec 12th, 2017 08:47

I used to deliberately cycle in really bad snow and ice and believe it's good experience for when you begin to drive a car.

Smooth inputs of the controls, braking very gently and in plenty of time and don't 'provoke' the car at all.

bokabil Dec 12th, 2017 09:30