Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General Forum for the S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 models

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Brake Pressure Sensors

Views : 4736

Replies : 50

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 1st, 2015, 18:15   #1
swedishandgerman
Premier Member
 
swedishandgerman's Avatar
 

Last Online: Sep 11th, 2019 21:57
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: EXETER
Default Brake Pressure Sensors

I was wondering if anyone has experience of changing the little in-line brake pressure sensors?

I have the "Anti-skid service required" message on my DIM and I have had my fault codes read showing a faulty brake pedal positioning sensor and faulty brake pressure sensors.

The individual parts are expensive and I am going through a process of elimination as follows:

120 for brake pedal position sensor - the one that goes into the brake servo. I've got it, installed it but the error message is still there.

There are 2 in-line pressure sensors (pn V30793669) and there are 250 EACH!!!!! I have seen on ebay them available at around 100 for 2 including the holders (pn V3524132) and I am wondering what to do.

I could end up spending 620 here.....

Has anyone any advice on how to fix the faulty sensors. Additionally, is my error message going to go away once I've replaced the faulty part, or will I need to get it reset?
__________________
2006 XC70 D5 Manual
1968 Amazon Estate, B18A + Overdrive
2016 V70 D4 Manual SE Lux
1967 P1800S
1970 142DL
swedishandgerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1st, 2015, 19:31   #2
GrahamBrown1
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Aug 8th, 2019 18:49
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Default

Have you cleared the codes and seen if they have come back? Not been much help here but I had the same codes and I cleared them with vida and they haven't come back.
__________________
Previous - S40 2003, V70 D5 2004, 2005 V50,
S60 D5 2007

Current - V70 D5 R design 2009
GrahamBrown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1st, 2015, 19:43   #3
bournricha
bournricha
 

Last Online: Jan 10th, 2017 23:14
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: oban
Default codes

Codes need to be cleared, the test is then, do they come back?
Is your car very new and demand new parts ?.Running an old car ,2001,there is rarely any need for new parts ,except for wearing stuff like pads .I recently replaced the position sensor second hand and it was only a tenner ,I think .You can get quotes for parts from Parts Gateway online .Parts are unfailingly good in my experience and often as good as new
The specialist breakers will have parts out of written off modern types ,so i can rarely see the point of new stuff and its recycling!
__________________
1991 940 estate 2.3 125,000m.Under overhaul
Previous convictions ;s70 ,855t5,745,v70, v70p2

Last edited by bournricha; Oct 1st, 2015 at 19:56. Reason: afterthought
bournricha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1st, 2015, 19:59   #4
swedishandgerman
Premier Member
 
swedishandgerman's Avatar
 

Last Online: Sep 11th, 2019 21:57
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: EXETER
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamBrown1 View Post
Have you cleared the codes and seen if they have come back? Not been much help here but I had the same codes and I cleared them with vida and they haven't come back.
I've put the pedal positioning sensor in, but the message "anti-skid service required" is still there.

I was wondering if there's a procedure to test the pressure sensors. Seeing as there are 2, I would prefer to find out which one of them is faulty instead of just going through the process of replacing parts willy-nilly until the messgae goes away!
__________________
2006 XC70 D5 Manual
1968 Amazon Estate, B18A + Overdrive
2016 V70 D4 Manual SE Lux
1967 P1800S
1970 142DL
swedishandgerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2nd, 2015, 06:19   #5
KBB
Master Tech
 

Last Online: Jun 22nd, 2019 10:38
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: On Contract Dubai Automotve Technical Academy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedishandgerman View Post
I've put the pedal positioning sensor in, but the message "anti-skid service required" is still there.

I was wondering if there's a procedure to test the pressure sensors. Seeing as there are 2, I would prefer to find out which one of them is faulty instead of just going through the process of replacing parts willy-nilly until the messgae goes away!
Scan tool with live data, press the pedal and look at the pressure values
KBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2nd, 2015, 07:54   #6
swedishandgerman
Premier Member
 
swedishandgerman's Avatar
 

Last Online: Sep 11th, 2019 21:57
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: EXETER
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KBB View Post
Scan tool with live data, press the pedal and look at the pressure values
Please could you tell me where I can get access to one of those? I have seen something after Googling it, but guess that type of tool is owned by a garage?
__________________
2006 XC70 D5 Manual
1968 Amazon Estate, B18A + Overdrive
2016 V70 D4 Manual SE Lux
1967 P1800S
1970 142DL
swedishandgerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2nd, 2015, 17:42   #7
bournricha
bournricha
 

Last Online: Jan 10th, 2017 23:14
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: oban
Default scan tools

I think you would need the Volvo specific Vida/Dice set up to get the pressure values .I have only got a multi make reader which will not go into such detail .The Vida is connected to a laptop which must have at least Windows 7 Professional on it .These kits are on ebay from various sources ,but some are hard to make work ,so i read on the forum .If you search the forum there are lots of references to these kits ,but not having one I cannot advise .
Yes ,this is what the dealers use ,but it would be infinitely useful to you too.
__________________
1991 940 estate 2.3 125,000m.Under overhaul
Previous convictions ;s70 ,855t5,745,v70, v70p2
bournricha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2nd, 2015, 17:45   #8
GrahamBrown1
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Aug 8th, 2019 18:49
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Default

You only need a bit of IT knowledge to get it to work, my fiend did mine for me but basically he split the hard drive on my laptop so it's runs 7 professional and Windows 8. Then vida downloaded off a disk onto the Windows 7 side of things. Best money I've ever spent motoring wise. Works on any volvo up to 2014.
__________________
Previous - S40 2003, V70 D5 2004, 2005 V50,
S60 D5 2007

Current - V70 D5 R design 2009
GrahamBrown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3rd, 2015, 14:21   #9
oldgreybloke
Master Member
 
oldgreybloke's Avatar
 

Last Online: Aug 16th, 2019 21:23
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: peterborough
Default

I get an intermittent ASSR message. Diagnosed by dealer as pressure sensor no2. But why does it not show permanently. I can go for months without the messge. Then it will appear a couple of times, the disappear again.
__________________
V70 D5 SE Lux
TVR Chimaera 500 - current
Porsche RS Carrera 2.7 - In my dreams...
Semper in excretia sumus, solim profundum variat
oldgreybloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3rd, 2015, 22:21   #10
Chrisw4266
Junior Member
 
Chrisw4266's Avatar
 

Last Online: Mar 19th, 2018 07:49
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Willerby, East Yorkshire.
Smile

Just had the same fault on my V70. I spent 80 on the icarsoft scanner to read the codes.
After clearing them I swapped the sensor wiring plugs from one to the other, if the code changes from sensor 1 to sensor 2 you'll know the sensors is the fault. If not then its possibly a abs ecu fault. I got my sensor from
http://www.volvobreakers.co.uk/volvo...vo-abs-sensor/
You'll need a deep 27 mm deep socket to remove the sensor. Its a bit awkward to get at but straight forward enough to do.
So far so good no warning message.

Last edited by Chrisw4266; Oct 3rd, 2015 at 22:27.
Chrisw4266 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chrisw4266 For This Useful Post:
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.