Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General Forum for the S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 models

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Coolant level sensor

Views : 181

Replies : 7

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 15th, 2019, 21:26   #1
alcashj94
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:01
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newton Abbot
Default Coolant level sensor

Changed my expansion tank today, I removed the level sensor from the old tank and fitted it to the new and now I have the 'low coolant, stop engine' message.
I've rechecked the electrical plug and it seems to be right in but still the same so
I guess I need to check the sensor for continuity etc.
Anyone know what I should be looking for - is it circuit continuity or impedance I need to check ?
alcashj94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15th, 2019, 21:49   #2
cheshired5
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 21:10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crewe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcashj94 View Post
Changed my expansion tank today
Did you replace with a genuine Volvo tank?
There are cases where aftermarket tanks interfere with the correct operation of the sensor.

When I changed my tank with genuine Volvo, everything was plug and play.
__________________
2002 S60 SE D5 Manual
205000 miles
cheshired5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15th, 2019, 22:11   #3
alcashj94
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:01
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newton Abbot
Default

Not a Volvo tank, it's a Hella. All looks the same and sensor clipped right in, I think I'll put the old one back on tomorrow and see if the message goes away, that will prove one way or the other. Reason for the change is a tiny split near the filler cap, not loosing coolant but saw a bubble when I opened the bonnet after a run.
alcashj94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15th, 2019, 22:15   #4
cheshired5
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 21:10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crewe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcashj94 View Post
I'll put the old one back on tomorrow and see if the message goes away
Sensible move.
You don't have to drain the system to test the theory, just plug the hose holes on the old tank, fill with water and plug in the sensor.
__________________
2002 S60 SE D5 Manual
205000 miles
cheshired5 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cheshired5 For This Useful Post:
Old Jun 16th, 2019, 00:10   #5
oragex
Premier Member
 
oragex's Avatar
 

Last Online: Yesterday 09:32
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Coldnada
Default

Maybe kick the float with a pencil, may got stuck. This sensor is very sensitive if the wire gets pulled even slightly - in particular when lifting a reservoir to work on belts, etc (however this shouldn't be an issue when installing a new sensor)
__________________
DIY Volvo repair Videos https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...ECTts0FSVSOT_c
oragex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16th, 2019, 09:21   #6
BarryCambs
Member
 

Last Online: Jul 18th, 2019 17:11
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cambridge
Default

I fitted a Hella one a few months ago and it works without issue. As above, it could be the float is stuck / sticky?
BarryCambs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16th, 2019, 12:40   #7
alcashj94
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:01
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newton Abbot
Default

Sensor works fine in the original tank so that's gone back on for now.
Float is free in the Hella tank, I tried moving the sensor down a bit to see if there was a slight difference in level between the two tanks but didn't find a position where it worked.
Think I'll get a Volvo tank and be sure of it.
alcashj94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16th, 2019, 17:39   #8
oragex
Premier Member
 
oragex's Avatar
 

Last Online: Yesterday 09:32
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Coldnada
Default

Used genuine should be fine (keep the old sensor for spare). Mostly the cap can go bad
__________________
DIY Volvo repair Videos https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...ECTts0FSVSOT_c
oragex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:08.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.