Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S40 / V40 '96-'04 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S40 / V40 '96-'04 General Forum for the Volvo S40 and V40 (Classic) Series from 1995-2004.

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Help with building cap for pressure bleeder for X40

Views : 390

Replies : 9

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 21st, 2019, 18:25   #1
v40club
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 20th, 2019 21:14
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: sweden
Default Help with building cap for pressure bleeder for X40

I'm trying to build a pressure bleeder cap but have ran into some issues.

When I pressurize the container the air escapes instantly. I believe it's either the cut-outs in the threads or the rubber gasket not forming a solid seal.

I've checked the valve stem and it forms a good seal.

Any pictures or help is appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20191004_173203.jpg (109.7 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20191004_173208.jpg (83.9 KB, 24 views)
v40club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27th, 2019, 21:19   #2
bgleyze
New Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 21:24
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LYON
Default

Hi,
I think you have to make a thick gasket. I have made one for my V40, and I had to make 10 or 15 mm gasket to avoid the leaks.

Hope this helps.
bgleyze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 17:32   #3
v40club
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 20th, 2019 21:14
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: sweden
Default

Thanks for the answer. I have some questions.

Did you remove the original rubber seal?
Did you use silicone to create the gasket?

Do you have any picture you can share?

Much appreciated for helping me
v40club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 17:42   #4
ITSv40
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 23:16
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton
Default

The original seal is designed to let the air in in order for the bellows to follow the drop in fluid. I gave up trying to get a good seal and abandoned the idea of pressure bleeding. All my other cars are pressure bled with no problem, but with the V40, 'er indoors gets called upon to press the pedal.
__________________
2001 V40 2.0lt Sport lux - Daily Driver. 151k miles.
2003 C70 2.4 GT Convertible - Garage Queen. 59k miles.
http://www.neptuno6benagil.com/
ITSv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8th, 2019, 21:23   #5
bgleyze
New Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 21:24
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LYON
Default

Hi v40club,

I did remove the original seal, and didn't use silicone. I'll try to get some pictures this weekend.
bgleyze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8th, 2019, 21:54   #6
dingov70
Master Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 19:52
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Blackpool
Default

Might sound stupid , but I am sure that in the dim & distant past I used the cap from a 25lt oil drum for this purpose . I used a thick O ring coated with RED RUBBER GREASE as it is non damaging to hydraulic systems / brake fluid / seals & meant for that purpose

Nothing ventured , nothing gained
__________________
To stupidity & beyond
dingov70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9th, 2019, 13:46   #7
bgleyze
New Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 21:24
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LYON
Default

Here is my seal :
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191109_114907.jpg (153.4 KB, 10 views)
bgleyze is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bgleyze For This Useful Post:
Old Nov 9th, 2019, 14:07   #8
RS3100
Junior Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 17:42
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Europe
Default

I use the standard euro fitting bleeder cap made by Alba that is supplied as standard fitting with Sealey and Alba pressure bleeders. Works fine on my V40 and Ducato.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/223210566283

although mine has the 90 degree valve connector.

I had to buy a different cap to fit my wife's Hyundai and also had to buy pressure couplings to make up an adapter hose to connect the Hyundai cap to the bleeder, as the cap coupling was a different type. If you have an incompatible bleeder you could do similar to allow the Alba/Sealey cap to connect to it.

Edit: This may not apply - I missed that the post was in the 96-04 forum when I replied. I accessed the post via the new posts feature initially.

Last edited by RS3100; Nov 9th, 2019 at 14:42.
RS3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9th, 2019, 18:04   #9
ITSv40
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 23:16
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton
Default

That is the standard cap that comes with the Sealey bleeder it does not fit the classic S/V40.
__________________
2001 V40 2.0lt Sport lux - Daily Driver. 151k miles.
2003 C70 2.4 GT Convertible - Garage Queen. 59k miles.
http://www.neptuno6benagil.com/
ITSv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9th, 2019, 21:12   #10
RS3100
Junior Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 17:42
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Europe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITSv40 View Post
That is the standard cap that comes with the Sealey bleeder it does not fit the classic S/V40.
Yes, sorry. As I edited my post to say, I hadn't realised the thread related to the original S/V40 when I first read and posted.

I've checked my list of bleeder caps and despite Alba making several different types, they don't list a suitable one for that model
RS3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.