Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General Forum for the S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 models

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Throttle bodyís adaptation in Vida

Views : 209

Replies : 6

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 01:25   #1
pierremcalpine
Premier Member
 
pierremcalpine's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 13:43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Default Throttle bodyís adaptation in Vida

Hi gang,
Iím preparing for s throttle body replacement for my 2004 2.5t s60. I attempted a thorough cleaning of the TB today but no dice. Got a bunch of stalls, eratic isle and an ECM 130a (air leakage intake) code. So, turns out that I live very close to Xemodex, an outfit that sells contactless TBís for Volvo. When these are installed Iím told and have read that they do not require any programming but DO require that the adaptation sequence in VIDA be run.

Just for kicks I tried to run the adaptation on my existing TB today but Iím not sure it took. I got no prompts after pressing begin and gave up after a minute or two.

Has anyone here successfully run the adaptation from VIDA? Iíd so, any tips? The instructions said that you need to scan for any faults first as some faults will prevent the adaptation from happening. Iím thinking that may have happened. I had the ecm 130a error. Does that seem right?

Any advice you guys have to offer would be appreciated. I really donít want to be stuck having to call a tow truck because the car wonít start after installing the replacement.
__________________
2003 V40 1.9T B4204T4, 185,000miles
2004 S60 2.5T, 160,000miles
2010 V70 3.2, 125,000miles

Click here for my x40 and V70 P3 repair guides

Last edited by pierremcalpine; Feb 22nd, 2018 at 01:27.
pierremcalpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 08:50   #2
100K+
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 21:13
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newcastle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierremcalpine View Post
. Got a bunch of stalls, eratic isle and an ECM 130a (air leakage intake) code.
I had this code a while ago on my V70 Turbo. Turned out it was the "O" ring that fitted at the bulkhead end of the over engine charge pipe was 3 parts missing. I appreciate you have decided you have a throttle body issue, but checking to make sure the "O" ring is good is a 5 minute job.

Cheers

Bob
100K+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 11:59   #3
pierremcalpine
Premier Member
 
pierremcalpine's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 13:43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100K+ View Post
I had this code a while ago on my V70 Turbo. Turned out it was the "O" ring that fitted at the bulkhead end of the over engine charge pipe was 3 parts missing. I appreciate you have decided you have a throttle body issue, but checking to make sure the "O" ring is good is a 5 minute job.

Cheers

Bob
Thank you, Bob - by O ring, do you mean the adjustable clamp that fastens the engine charge pipe to the turbo?
__________________
2003 V40 1.9T B4204T4, 185,000miles
2004 S60 2.5T, 160,000miles
2010 V70 3.2, 125,000miles

Click here for my x40 and V70 P3 repair guides
pierremcalpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 17:25   #4
100K+
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Yesterday 21:13
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newcastle
Default

Yep that the item.

Cheers
Bob
100K+ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 100K+ For This Useful Post:
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 21:14   #5
Missing Lincs
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 19:52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louth
Default

I've done the adaptation on a V50. I would think it's very similar, the hardest part was finding how to start the test, on my version of ViDA the start was the actual symbol on the adaptation page.

Adaptation is done with the engine running and only takes a short time, you can tell it's working if the engine nearly stalls as the valve on the TB is almost closed. At least that's what happened for me, I thought I'd broken the car when it nearly stalled!
Missing Lincs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22nd, 2018, 23:42   #6
pierremcalpine
Premier Member
 
pierremcalpine's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 13:43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Default

Thank you, Missing Links. I think Iím getting the adaptation to run as the behaviour at start up is very unique with what appears an ďidle ladderĒ happening wth RPMs remaining steady at 2000, then lower, lower again, etc. It takes about 20s. But I get no confirmation that the adaptation has happened afterwards. Is this normal?
__________________
2003 V40 1.9T B4204T4, 185,000miles
2004 S60 2.5T, 160,000miles
2010 V70 3.2, 125,000miles

Click here for my x40 and V70 P3 repair guides

Last edited by pierremcalpine; Feb 22nd, 2018 at 23:52.
pierremcalpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23rd, 2018, 15:05   #7
Missing Lincs
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 19:52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louth
Default

Sorry, can't remember about any confirmation message. I do remember that nothing seemed a great deal different before and after the process. I did it after replacing the position sensor on the throttle body, you can do this on the V50 which is a whole lot cheaper than replacing the entire unit as I had to do with my V70 :-(
Missing Lincs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missing Lincs For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
adaptation, throttle body, vida


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.