Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > 850 / S70 & V70 '96-'99 / C70 '97-'05 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

850 / S70 & V70 '96-'99 / C70 '97-'05 General Forum for the 850 / S70 & V70 '96-'99/ C70 '97-'05 models

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Drivers window switch pack needed

Views : 429

Replies : 12

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 4th, 2018, 17:48   #1
daniel mossey
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 01:49
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WALTHAM ABBEY
Default Drivers window switch pack needed

Hi I need a new window switch pack for my v70 1997 is there a link for a cheap alternative.?
Regards
Dan
daniel mossey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4th, 2018, 21:53   #2
huron
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:20
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bodmin
Default

Check these out, did it on two of mine, easy mod. and you soon get used to the switches other way round.

https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showt...rs+door+switch

https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showt...rs+door+switch
__________________
huron
1997 V70 Tdi
190,030 miles
huron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 14:33   #3
daniel mossey
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 01:49
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WALTHAM ABBEY
Default

Hi thanks for this. What if you plug the plugs in where they fit what will happen? I've without the soldering won't the switches work the opposite sides anyway without any work?
Dan
daniel mossey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 14:40   #4
ovlov236
Junior Member
 

Last Online: Today 18:30
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: blackburn
Smile

May I Ask Why You Need A New Switch ? Cant The New One Be Repaired ?

Maria
ovlov236 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ovlov236 For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 15:06   #5
christheancient
Premier Member
 
christheancient's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 17:41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: A place in mendip-land famous for its cheese - and its gorge
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovlov236 View Post
May I Ask Why You Need A New Switch ? Cant The New One Be Repaired ?
Sometimes (but not every time!) the old one can be repaired. The dismantling of a switch pack takes extreme care as bits can go flying everywhere! Photographs as you pull it to pieces as you go might be a good idea it you've never done such a task.

Quite often, a good clean of the contacts within using an electrical contact cleaning solvent (ebay can be your friend here!) can effect a repair; but it's by no means guaranteed to be a perfect remedy. It's a 'suck it and see' job!

Because I used to be an electronics technician, it was not a difficult task for me to try when my switch pack went 'duff'; but I could see just how easily bits could end up in all sorts of dark corners of the room if the job was approached in a 'gung ho' manner. Despite being a rugged looking package, most of it's internals are quite delicate and needed to be treated accordingly.

Just had a look on Youtube. Couldn't find a video of one being repaired
__________________


I may by stoopid... But I'm good at it!

Last edited by christheancient; Dec 5th, 2018 at 15:10.
christheancient is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to christheancient For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 15:13   #6
christheancient
Premier Member
 
christheancient's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 17:41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: A place in mendip-land famous for its cheese - and its gorge
Default

Google is your friend...

http://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/for...ic.php?t=38245
__________________


I may by stoopid... But I'm good at it!
christheancient is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to christheancient For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 20:17   #7
huron
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:20
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bodmin
Default

NO you cannot just plug the new switch in, it will damage the internals.
__________________
huron
1997 V70 Tdi
190,030 miles
huron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to huron For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 5th, 2018, 22:40   #8
daniel mossey
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 01:49
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WALTHAM ABBEY
Default

The old drivers switch is busted it's fallen apart plus one rear switch dosnt work from the pack. I'll have to solder it but looking at the pictures from the link I wonder if you could just prise off and change the front part of the switch pack?
Regards
Dan

Last edited by daniel mossey; Dec 5th, 2018 at 22:48.
daniel mossey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6th, 2018, 08:30   #9
huron
Senior Member
 

Last Online: Today 20:20
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bodmin
Default

For that price from China and was here in ten days why bother.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Master-Po...72.m2749.l2649

All you need is a six way terminal block to swap the wires around, simples.
LHD door s/w conversion for RHD


Plug Loom

A1 Bl------------------------Bk
A2 Bk-----------------------Bl
A3 W-----------------------Bl/Gn
A4 Bl/W-------------------Gn
A5 Gn----------------------W
A6 Bl/Gn------------------Bl/W



This works.
__________________
huron
1997 V70 Tdi
190,030 miles

Last edited by huron; Dec 6th, 2018 at 08:36.
huron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6th, 2018, 16:06   #10
jack taylor
Master Member
 

Last Online: Today 21:38
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Torrenueva, Costa del Sol
Default

Hi Daniel, I have just purchased that cheap pack from china on ebay. Thanks to Hugh`s detailed diagram in an earlier thread I changed LHD to RHD and everything works a treat. I agree with Hugh; for the price its not worth messing around and trying to mend the old pack. Spend 18.00 and an hour of your time and you have a new pack. jack
jack taylor is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:53.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.