Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > Performance Volvo Cars
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Performance Volvo Cars A forum for those interested in any Volvo performance car from any era, FWD, RWD and AWD!

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

185 Diesel pump on 163 engine

Views : 1200

Replies : 35

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 1st, 2018, 21:14   #11
Clankys60
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 17th, 2018 19:21
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hull
Default

Ps. On the 185 engine the intank pump runs continuously.
Clankys60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1st, 2018, 22:14   #12
davebb
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 00:11
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Emsworth,hants
Default

ok that's good to know, I am thinking about fitting the 185 injectors,
Thanks Dave
davebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1st, 2018, 22:34   #13
davebb
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 00:11
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Emsworth,hants
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clankys60 View Post
So far, everything's bolt on, apart from having the turbo manifold machined.

The injectors provide the extra juice and the turbo gives extra oxygen at the higher rpm.

But it does need a custom remap on a dyno. There's too much smoke at low rpm and the boost cuts out too early.
Hi the main problem is with tuning on the dyno is that with the old ecu's our cars use, is they can not be live tuned unless the tuner has a eprom emulator to wire in to the ecu, I did look at this, they cost about 500from the usa, so not worth getting one,
so you need to log with a wide band O2 gauge then re-flash the ecu in boot mode after any file changes, it will take some time,
I have cloned my ecu so I have some to play with, I fitted a jack plug socket in to he top of the ecu so you can now plug in a push button switch and set the ecu into boot mode when switching the car on, so I can now use a cheap china MPPS obd2 lead/software to write to the ecu without removing it all of the time,
Thanks Dave
davebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3rd, 2018, 21:42   #14
Clankys60
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 17th, 2018 19:21
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hull
Default

That's a great idea. I must admit I've not had much luck finding a tuning company who's willing to remap it!

I don't suppose you could send me any details on how you've modified your ecu??
Clankys60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3rd, 2018, 23:16   #15
davebb
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 00:11
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Emsworth,hants
Default

yes I will do you some info with photos tomorrow,
how is your soldering ?
Dave
davebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4th, 2018, 22:25   #16
Clankys60
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 17th, 2018 19:21
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hull
Default

Cheers! My soldering is better than my welding!

I work in IT, so it shouldn't be a problem.
Clankys60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6th, 2018, 23:04   #17
Clankys60
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 17th, 2018 19:21
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hull
Default

Hi Dave

I'd REALLY appreciate any info on modifying the ecu on the D5.

A little s#1t in a modified golf 1.9 tdi is whooping my ass. I'd like to wipe the cheesy smile off his face.

Cheers

Paul
Clankys60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7th, 2018, 22:02   #18
davebb
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 00:11
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Emsworth,hants
Default

Hi Paul, sorry I have not done it, I will try and sort it all out over the weekend

you will need this tool to remove the ecu,

https://www.amazon.co.uk/CITALL-Comp...u+removal+tool
davebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7th, 2018, 22:52   #19
Clankys60
New Member
 

Last Online: Nov 17th, 2018 19:21
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hull
Default

Bloody typical! I should have searched the net for tools to remove an ecu!?

Instead I made my own after a couple of hours of bending scrap plate!

I removed it because out of curiosity, I lifted the plastic lid containing the ecu during this summer.

Bloody hell, it was hot! And I'm not talking about the great summer we've just had, I'm talking about the ecu!

I wouldn't be able to hold it without burning my hands. This can't be normal??
Clankys60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7th, 2018, 23:28   #20
davebb
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Today 00:11
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Emsworth,hants
Default

Hi Paul you also need a cheap mpps progaming cable, about a 10-15 of ebay
a 13.8v 1-3amp psu,
yes it does get very hot, I have put a remote control relay receiver in with the ecu, so I hope it holds up, I can switch between standard and tuned maps by a remote key fob when driving the car,
The ecu housing does have a hose to it, in some cars there has been a fan blowing air, but I don't know what ones,
Dave
davebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:05.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.