Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S80 '06> / V70 '07> / XC70 '07> General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S80 '06> / V70 '07> / XC70 '07> General Forum for the Volvo S80 '06> / V70 '07> XC70 '07> models (V70 Generation 3)

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

Adventures with VDASH

Views : 319

Replies : 4

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 16th, 2019, 09:17   #1
ShadeTek
Premier Member
 
ShadeTek's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 9th, 2019 22:33
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Inverclyde
Blog Entries: 2
Default Adventures with VDASH

I had been wanting to upgrade my DIM from analogue to a digital dash from the moment I knew such a thing was available. So I acquired an XC60 2015 digital DIM from eBay for 180. It had a few scratches on the poly facia, but I buffed them out with headlamp restoration kit which made it look new again. Downloaded VDASH and opened an account. The software initially finds the CEM pin code (needing done just one) which took 23 hours btw and then the car is open to all sorts of upgrades. I had to have a 10 amp AGM charger keeping the cars power on in ignition 2 mode. I also had to keep an eye on the voltage readout on VDASH in case I cooked the battery by giving it too much power. The dash is on and working now and my next purchase will be to have the lethal start/stop function disabled on start-up. S/s is a pain and if you forget to disable it, it dies as you do a rolling stop at a junction, leaving you over the junction with no power. There are several options, two of which I remember are totally disable s/s or disable on start-up, which is the one I am going for as s/s is still useful in some situations.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg d1.jpg (63.6 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg d2.jpg (48.7 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg d3.jpg (45.5 KB, 53 views)
File Type: png d4.png (332.8 KB, 52 views)
File Type: png d5.png (325.4 KB, 46 views)
__________________
Tek-Emo Villis Emo Bis

V70 SE NAV 1.6 D2 2015MY POWERSHIFT, D4162T, 40000miles, RED.
/VOL FCR/PEPER OBD2/Acron 9135 OBD2/L.E.D Flasher
ShadeTek is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ShadeTek For This Useful Post:
Old Oct 16th, 2019, 14:43   #2
ShadeTek
Premier Member
 
ShadeTek's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 9th, 2019 22:33
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Inverclyde
Blog Entries: 2
Default

If you are thinking about doing this yourself, don't use aV40 DIM, they physically won't fit. Use an XC/V/S/60/70 DIM which has come from the same transmission type. It doesn't matter whether it comes from a petrol or diesel. Some cheap ones on eBay just now like this.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/INSTRUMEN...YAAOSw9oVdlKaN
__________________
Tek-Emo Villis Emo Bis

V70 SE NAV 1.6 D2 2015MY POWERSHIFT, D4162T, 40000miles, RED.
/VOL FCR/PEPER OBD2/Acron 9135 OBD2/L.E.D Flasher
ShadeTek is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadeTek For This Useful Post:
Old Oct 16th, 2019, 17:41   #3
IronJaw
New Member
 
IronJaw's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 19th, 2019 23:00
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: West Lancashire
Default

That looks so cool, I imagine my 2008 is too old to do that to. The first XC70 I looked at had that instrument cluster, but it was too expensive for me.
__________________
2008 Volvo XC70 D5
IronJaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18th, 2019, 22:55   #4
100K+
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Nov 18th, 2019 14:01
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newcastle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeTek View Post
S/s is a pain and if you forget to disable it, it dies as you do a rolling stop at a junction, leaving you over the junction with no power. There are several options, two of which I remember are totally disable s/s or disable on start-up, which is the one I am going for as s/s is still useful in some situations.
Agree S/S is a bit of a pain, but my engine does not die until the speedo reads "0". Even if its "1" the engine will not cut out, then if I do stop at "0" and the engine dies, as soon as the speedo reads "1" the engine fires up with out any action needed from me. Therefore your situation at junctions could not happen to me. Can't think why that should be.
Cars a V70 D5 Manual 2015MY

Edit - Just noticed your car auto...

Cheers
Bob
100K+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9th, 2019, 22:12   #5
ShadeTek
Premier Member
 
ShadeTek's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 9th, 2019 22:33
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Inverclyde
Blog Entries: 2
Default

I switched off the start/stop function using VDASH so that when I start the car S/S is OFF, but I have the option to switch it on. Works well!
__________________
Tek-Emo Villis Emo Bis

V70 SE NAV 1.6 D2 2015MY POWERSHIFT, D4162T, 40000miles, RED.
/VOL FCR/PEPER OBD2/Acron 9135 OBD2/L.E.D Flasher
ShadeTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.