Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S40 / V50 '04-'12 / C70 '06> / C30 '07-'12 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S40 / V50 '04-'12 / C70 '06> / C30 '07-'12 General Forum for the S40 / V50 '04> / C70 '06> /C30 '07> models.

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

"Bonnet Open"

Views : 4970

Replies : 13

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:00   #1
fenton_jd
turkeyspace.com
 
fenton_jd's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 5th, 2016 16:41
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gloucester
Default "Bonnet Open"

Few days ago after shutting the bonnet the dash computer tells me the bonnet is still open. It's definitely closed propperly as you must pull the level in order to open it again

My T5's bonnet was a tad clunky to close compared to my 2.0d which I noticed in the dealer forecourt but thought nothing of it, now its done this? The catch is no different, just now gives the warning message.

Also, when locking with the remote the indicators no longer flash. They only flash when unlocking (computer menu had BOTH enabled)

Any ideas?

Last edited by fenton_jd; Jan 11th, 2011 at 23:21.
fenton_jd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:06   #2
andy_d
Premier Member
 
andy_d's Avatar
 

Last Online: Sep 9th, 2017 14:02
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: birmingham
Default

the micro switch at the bonnet catch
either faulty or the bar/tag that sticks out to engage the catch is bent wrongly, or its covered in muck.. clean /bend/ replace as needed
__________________

940s - 2l / 92 < gone&missed s401.8 xs auto > arrived >love it bl##dy money pit tho
"skyship007 has now been successfully added to your ignore list. "."
andy_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:06   #3
stevo48
Premier Member
 

Last Online: Aug 19th, 2017 20:59
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Halifax West yorkshire
Default

have you checked the courtesy/alarm switch for the bonnet?
stevo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:23   #4
fenton_jd
turkeyspace.com
 
fenton_jd's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 5th, 2016 16:41
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gloucester
Default

I prodded around the catch and wiggled it a bit but didnt want to break anything.

Wheres this courtesy sensor then?

Thanks for the suggestions! :-)
fenton_jd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:27   #5
andy_d
Premier Member
 
andy_d's Avatar
 

Last Online: Sep 9th, 2017 14:02
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: birmingham
Default

its usually right by the catch/latch on the slam panel, stevo+me on about the same thing btw
__________________

940s - 2l / 92 < gone&missed s401.8 xs auto > arrived >love it bl##dy money pit tho
"skyship007 has now been successfully added to your ignore list. "."
andy_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 23:41   #6
t5_monkey
Monkeying Around
 
t5_monkey's Avatar
 

Last Online: Mar 13th, 2016 20:05
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: York
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenton_jd View Post
Few days ago after shutting the bonnet the dash computer tells me the bonnet is still open. It's definitely closed propperly as you must pull the level in order to open it again

My T5's bonnet was a tad clunky to close compared to my 2.0d which I noticed in the dealer forecourt but thought nothing of it, now its done this? The catch is no different, just now gives the warning message.

Also, when locking with the remote the indicators no longer flash. They only flash when unlocking (computer menu had BOTH enabled)

Any ideas?
mine only flash when unlocking... didn't realize you could set that on the computer!
__________________


Release the Monkey inside of you >>> Trunk Monkey
t5_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12th, 2011, 00:41   #7
azibux1
Senior Member
 
azibux1's Avatar
 

Last Online: Oct 1st, 2014 14:50
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire
Default

Sounds a bit of a stupid idea but I read it on this forum and a few people said it actually worked.

The switch may have got jammed, so what they done was hold it about 10 - 12 inches from shutting and slam it down. It solved a lot of peoples problems, and they were saying the same thing about the alarm lights, I think it was something to do with it not alarming properly as the circuit was open and slamming the bonnet fixed all this.

Its worth a try
__________________
azibux1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12th, 2011, 12:48   #8
Jonnieb2009
Master Member
 
Jonnieb2009's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 23rd, 2011 15:19
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Helsby
Default

I have had a few cars and the garages have always told me that when you put your bonnet down hold it 12" away and let drop rather than pushing on the bonnet for it to shut. I have always done this and have never had any issues.

rgds

J
Jonnieb2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12th, 2011, 17:12   #9
fenton_jd
turkeyspace.com
 
fenton_jd's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 5th, 2016 16:41
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gloucester
Default

I full on slammed the bonnet shut and it echoed around my street. Sat in the car and:

"Bonnet Open"
fenton_jd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16th, 2011, 17:06   #10
fenton_jd
turkeyspace.com
 
fenton_jd's Avatar
 

Last Online: Nov 5th, 2016 16:41
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gloucester
Default

Now sorted - Kind of.

Took the black plastic catch lining off. There is a tiny lil red rubber switch which the catch wasnt quite touching when bonnet was shut.

Poked it with a screw driver and it no longer says "bonnet open", even if the bonnet IS open!.

I dont care anyway as I dont need a computer to tell me I just opened the bonnet.

Last edited by fenton_jd; Jan 16th, 2011 at 18:17.
fenton_jd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:25.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.