Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General
Register Members CarsBlogs Help Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 General Forum for the S80 '98-'06 / S60 '00-'09 / V70 & XC70 '00-'07 models

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

SAT Nav(Built in) locked up

Views : 21652

Replies : 27

Users Viewing This Thread :  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 7th, 2006, 14:43   #1
Mieszkian
New Member
 

Last Online: Jul 22nd, 2007 23:24
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maidenhead
Default SAT Nav(Built in) locked up

Hi all,

Does anyone know if putting in a normal DVD into the built-in Volvo SAT Nav non TV version (V70 2003) would lock the system?

Basically the screen shows "The disk cannot be read" immediately after a normal DVD was inserted. I've tried cleaning the DVD mechanism with a DVD disk cleaner and re-inserting the road map DVD, but no joy.

I have a hunch that putting in a normal DVD title has somehow locked up the unit... it seems too much of a coincidence otherwise. I can't see any warning of this anywhere.

Any thoughts would be much appeciated as I don't really want to fork out 300 for a replacement mech.

Many thanks
Mieszkian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7th, 2006, 16:11   #2
mhon72
Senior Member
 
mhon72's Avatar
 

Last Online: Jun 13th, 2017 19:54
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mieszkian View Post
Hi all,

Does anyone know if putting in a normal DVD into the built-in Volvo SAT Nav non TV version (V70 2003) would lock the system?

Basically the screen shows "The disk cannot be read" immediately after a normal DVD was inserted. I've tried cleaning the DVD mechanism with a DVD disk cleaner and re-inserting the road map DVD, but no joy.

I have a hunch that putting in a normal DVD title has somehow locked up the unit... it seems too much of a coincidence otherwise. I can't see any warning of this anywhere.

Any thoughts would be much appeciated as I don't really want to fork out 300 for a replacement mech.

Many thanks
Regular DVDs as you have found out do not work in this DVD-ROM player as there is no software or hardware to decode regular DVD discs. That's why you got a error message.
When you tried cleaning it the brushes on the disc cleaner may have knocked the laser.

TIP: conventional CD/DVD brush cleaners won't work in the disc changer as these discs usually contain data (as music or a video) to work which the changer cannot interpret in order to start the cleaning program. If you need to clean it I use a few blasts of an airduster or it's mor serious I'd recommend removing the unit and getting it serviced by a specialist.

Anyway, I'd clean your DVD RTI discs with a disc cleaner and dry thoroughly (remember to wipe from the centre outwards in straight radial lines). Then try again, it may take a few minutes for the changer to read the discs so leave it running.
If this still fails then pull the fuses for the RTI to see if it can reset it.
Failing that, you'll have to get the changer checked out. Whoops...
Hope that helps.
__________________
- it's been a while but it's about time I got back on here.

- being Chinese I eat a lot of rice but you won't find me driving one!!
mhon72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7th, 2006, 20:09   #3
T5JAS
Gorgeous Master Member
 
T5JAS's Avatar
 

Last Online: May 18th, 2012 11:50
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Benington, Stevenage
Default

hi Mieszkian and welcome to the forum
Once you have done all the above, try re-loading the software. you should have a software disc to do this.
not sure if it will work but worth a try.
good luck
Jason
__________________
XC90 SE DIESEL,
BLACK LEATHER,
FACTORY SAT NAV,
FACTORY DVD ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE.
never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly

Last edited by T5JAS; Nov 7th, 2006 at 20:11.
T5JAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9th, 2006, 18:42   #4
Mieszkian
New Member
 

Last Online: Jul 22nd, 2007 23:24
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maidenhead
Default

Thanks for your advise chaps I'll try this and post the results...
Mieszkian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17th, 2006, 15:43   #5
BlackBird
S60 D5
 

Last Online: Sep 1st, 2008 16:18
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunderland
Default

Ive got a similar problem that the player just recently started giving the same error messages. After trying several different kinds of lens cleaners I am stumped as to what to do, these lens cleaners don't work in this unit as people have quite rightly stated.

I think i'll go try pulling out the fuses, where are these located for the RTI unit?

Cheers,

Ian
BlackBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17th, 2006, 21:06   #6
BlackBird
S60 D5
 

Last Online: Sep 1st, 2008 16:18
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunderland
Default

Tried the fuses, actually ive took the unit to bits also to see if I could get the lens to clean it. Tried inserting and ejecting the DVD repeatedly for about 7 times, nothing.

What I have checked however is the self-diagnosis which you can get to by pressing the back and enter buttons on the wheel repeatedly. The self diagnosis actual reports in the circuit check that the DVD is NG, which I assumes means Not Good. Also, there is a screen which shows you the DTC 2000 DVD Error. This basically all started when I ejected the disc and found that it was very dirty, if not a little condesation on it. Since cleaning the DVD and putting it back the unit has not worked. I still think it may be a dirty lens.

Any ideas, or should i just bite the bullet and get a replacement. For those who got replacements, do you know the part number of the unit?
BlackBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21st, 2006, 09:25   #7
neek
Junior Member
 

Last Online: Sep 3rd, 2007 12:06
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: sheffield
Default

Can I ask what diags pressing buttons goves and how to do it ? my sat nav no longer comes out of the dash and the multichanger does not work. The TV sound is on but again, it does not come out the dash.
Any help would be appreciated.
neek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21st, 2006, 10:33   #8
BlackBird
S60 D5
 

Last Online: Sep 1st, 2008 16:18
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunderland
Default

You need the TV screen out to be able to view the diagnostics, and I am not sure this will be possible on every car, mines an 03 on a 53 plate.

Quite simply, the back and enter button on your steering wheel need to be pressed, I think it is back then enter and repeat possible 3 times as you first turn the ignition on, although I have not counted yet to establish how many times i just keeping mashing them until it comes on, then the screen will display the diagnostics. However, if your screen does not come up, then you wont see anything.

Have you checked the fuses in the boot above the DVD player?
BlackBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21st, 2006, 14:41   #9
neek
Junior Member
 

Last Online: Sep 3rd, 2007 12:06
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: sheffield
Default

Have checked fuses in the drivers side dash and the boot.
neek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22nd, 2006, 20:38   #10
GMcL
0's and 1's
 
GMcL's Avatar
 

Last Online: Jul 9th, 2017 00:39
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titz
Default

I had a similar problem reading data from the CD in our Pug 206 Sat-Nav system. I contacted the vendor (Navteq*) who tried blaiming everything - the headunit, disk reader, GPS locator - except their CD which was less than 3 months old.

I took the CD out of the car and put it in our PC. There were 7 bad sectors on the CD which the PC will eventually read after multiple scans but obviously in the car, on the move, you don't have time for the system to keep rescanning.

I burnt a new CD. Works perfectly everytime.
If the CD is getting on a bit, it might be worth copying (if you have a PC with a burner). I used Nero to create my personal backup - so I don't infringe any copyright laws here.

* Never buy a system which uses Navteq maps. They only guarantee it for 30 days. Bit much if you buy a system to cover Europe and you don't have the time to test every square mile before the 30 days are up.
GMcL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GMcL For This Useful Post:
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.